Linux – Timezone conversion by command line

command lineconversiondatelinuxtime

I know about http://www.timeanddate.com/worldclock/converter.html

I can't figure out how to query http://www.google.com in a sane natural format like "5pm BST in PST".

Or do I have to write such an app?

Best Answer

It's 6pm in Taipei, what time is it here?

date --date='TZ="Asia/Taipei" 18:00'
Fri Jul 16 11:00:00 BST 2010

At 11am here in London, what time is it in Taipei?

TZ=Asia/Taipei date -d "11:00 BST"
Fri Jul 16 18:00:00 CST 2010