Windows – “Document was sent to the printer” notification pops up for all users of shared printer

windows 7

I have a small office network, with a Windows 7 box that acts as a printer and file server, and about 9 other Windows 7 clients. Whenever a document is printed to the shared printer by a user in the local network, everyone gets the "document was sent to the printer" popup in their system tray.

Is there a way I can turn this off for everyone? The computers aren't on a domain or group policy, it's just a normal local network.

Best Answer

  • Each computer should :

    • Go into the Devices and Printers applet,
    • Without double-clicking on the printer, click on the Print server properties menu-bar item,
    • Select the Advanced tab
    • Uncheck Show informational notifications for network printers
    • OK
  • Related Question