Ubuntu – How to type the Indian Rupee Symbol

keyboardkeyboard-layoutshortcut-keysspecial characters

I want to type the Indian Rupee Symbol. So I went to System Settings >> Keyboard Layout and clicked on the Options button. Under the Adding Currency signs to keys sections, I checked the Rupee on 4 option.

enter image description here

Later when I opened the Layout Chart of the Keyboard there was Rupee sign in the 4 key but I do not know how to type the symbol. What combination of the keys will type the Rupee symbol on the screen?

enter image description here

Best Answer

  • Just press Alt R+4 like in below image:

    enter image description here

    See also this answer.

    Note: You need to change your keyboard setting to English (India, with rupee sign) as default for this to work.