Ubuntu – Is it safe to run upgrade with Pinned Applications in Synaptic

upgrade

I have firefox, thunderbird, thunderbird-locale-en, thunderbird-locale-en-us, xul-ext-calendar-timezones, xul-ext-gdata-provider and xul-ext-lightning pinned in Synaptic.

When I run apt-get upgrade. I get the following

The following packages will be upgraded:
  boot-repair boot-sav darktable firefox libvlc5 libvlccore5 thunderbird thunderbird-locale-en
  thunderbird-locale-en-us vlc vlc-data vlc-nox vlc-plugin-notify vlc-plugin-pulse
  xul-ext-calendar-timezones xul-ext-gdata-provider xul-ext-lightning
17 upgraded, 0 newly installed, 0 to remove and 0 not upgraded.
Need to get 53.0 MB of archives.
After this operation, 606 kB of additional disk space will be used.
Do you want to continue [Y/n]? 

Are these packages really going to be upgraded?

show lock

Best Answer

Yes they are going be upgraded.

You have to hold them with dpkg:

echo <package> hold | dpkg --set-selections

Reference: Ubuntu Help

Related Question